Bawtry Mayflower is supported by its Board of Governors which, under the terms of the 1998 Education Act, is responsible for the curriculum and welfare of pupils, the school's budget, staff appointments and the care of the buildings.

Structure of our Governing Body

There is at least one full Governing Body meeting each term at which issues are discussed and decisions made. The Governing Body is then split into sub-committees: a Curriculum Committee and a Finance Committee. Each of these sub-committees meets at least once a term. 

The Governing Body of Bawtry Mayflower consists of:

  • Headteacher
  • Two Parent Governors (appointed by parents) 
  • One Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Local Authority)
  • One Staff Governor (appointed by the schools staff)
  • Four Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Full Governing Body)
  • Two Associate Members (attends full board and committee meetings, but isn't a Governor)
  • One observer

Chair of Governors

Melissa Vernon - Parent Governor. Can be contacted through the school office

Vice Chair of Governors

Lucy Woolf - Parent Governor. 


Mrs Lisa Powell - Headteacher

Parent Governors

Lucy Woolf - term of office 13th July 2020 to 12th July 2024

Melissa Vernon - term of office 13th July 2020 to 12th July 2024

Local Authority Governor

Joe Burton - term of office 6th June 2023 to 5th June 2027

Staff Governor

Sarah Hoggart - term of office 24th September 2020 to 25th September 2024

Co-opted Governors

Claire Bailey - term of office 4th March 2020 to 3rd March 2024

James MacConnachie - term of office 8th November 2022 to 7th November 2026

Shaun McArthur - term of office 20th September 2023 to 19th September 2027

Currently one vacancy

Associate Member

Natalie Walker - Deputy Head

Rebecca Parkes - (SLT)


Claire Dunn (SLT)

Governors who have resigned or whose term of office has ended since September 2021 

Reverend Becky Hancock - resigned with effect from 2nd November 2021

Audrey Wall - resigned effective from 15th June 2022

Nik Pratap - resigned effective from 15th June 2022

Michaela Clark - resigned effective from 5th December 2022

Angela Scott - ended role as Local Authority Governor on 5th December 2022

Gail Davies  - resigned effective from 18th May 2023


Governing Body Full Board Attendance 2022-2023 Academic Year

A redacted version of the minutes of the Governing Body Full Board meetings are available to view on request from the school office.

Autumn Term Meeting Tuesday 8th November 2022 - all present except Angela Scott (no apologies)

Autumn Term Meeting Monday 12th December 2022 - all present except Angela Scott (no apologies) and Claire Bailey (apologies accepted)

Spring Term Meeting Tuesday 24th January 2023 - all present

Spring Term Meeting Tuesday 7th March 2023 - all present


Governor Register of Interests

From 1st September 2015, Governing Bodies of maintained schools have a duty to publish their register of interests. This register is required to include the following details:

Any business and pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests) including:

  • Governance roles in other educational establishments
  • Any material interests arising from the relationships between Governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives)

Please see below details of any interests declared by our current Governing Body for the academic year 2022-2023

Name of Governor
Interest Declared
Lisa Powell
Melissa Jarvis
Claire Dunn
Sarah Hoggart
Rebecca Parkes
Claire Bailey
Principal at Darwen Aldridge Community Academy
Natalie Walker
Father works for DMBC who complete contracts for the school
Husband works for Youth Sports Trust
Lucy Woolf
James MacConnnachie

 Teacher at Sunnyfields Primary School



Station Road, Bawtry, Doncaster DN10 6PU

Headteacher | Lisa Powell